Free case evaluation (818) 507 8525
Insights on artful litigation

Are you being Short Changed for Your Overtime Pay?

Overtime Pay

Overtime Facts in California

“In California,  a nonexempt employee 18 years of age or older, shall not be employed more than eight hours in any workday or more than 40 hours in any workweek unless he or she receives one and one-half times his or her regular rate of pay for all hours worked over eight hours in any workday and over 40 hours in the workweek. Eight hours of labor constitutes a day’s work, and employment beyond eight hours in any workday or more than six days in any workweek requires the employee to be compensated for the overtime at not less than:

  1. One and one-half times the employee’s regular rate of pay for all hours worked in excess of eight hours up to and including 12 hours in any workday, and for the first eight hours worked on the seventh consecutive day of work in a workweek; and
  2. Double the employee’s regular rate of pay for all hours worked in excess of 12 hours in any workday and for all hours worked in excess of eight on the seventh consecutive day of work in a workweek.”

https://www.dir.ca.gov/dlse/FAQ_Overtime.htm

Is your Paycheck right?

If you think your paycheck looks short, you might be right. Never assume that your employer always gets it right.

It is common knowledge that businesses and organizations of every size by either accident or design underpay workers by significant amounts. And it’s not just low-wage workers that are  underpaid, workers up and down the pay scale are affected.

First, be certain that the hourly you are being paid is what you agreed to, Then, be certain you are being paid for all the hours you work, from;  prep time, cleanup time, any time required to put on a uniform or protective clothing at work and time to travel between job sites.

What should you do if your paycheck is wrong?

  1. Keep your own records
  2. Report any discrepancies immediately to your employer or human resources: Then ask for correction.
  3. Talk to your coworkers, for support and possible action together:  See if underpaying is a pattern of your employer.
  4. Talk to your boss, or to human resources: Approach your employer with the problem, asking for repayment immediately.
  5. Contact an attorney: If you have had no success with your employer, it is time to contact an attorney either as a group or just for yourself. The attorney will let you know the best path forward, from filing a complaint with local, state and federal agencies to suing your employer for violations.

CONTACT AN EMPLOYMENT LAW EXPERT, CONTACT KJT LAW GROUP

The attorneys at KJT LAW GROUP are dedicated to assisting employees who are not being paid their legal amount of compensation. Working with a professional who understands the complexities associated with Overtime pay and the complex Employment Laws in California will improve your chances of receiving your rightful compensation. We work hand in hand with our clients to help them achieve justice. If you are unsure of your overtime rights, let the professionals at KJT LAW GROUP help. Call us at (818) 507-8525 or email us at info@KJTLawGroup.com for a free consultation. We will go over all the facts of your case and recommend the best ways to move forward.

Insights on artful litigation

How to Maximize Your Car Accident Settlement or Verdict

Knowing the possibilities when it comes to the financial impact, how do you maximize a car accident settlement? You need to start at the beginning. From the moment the accident happens, document everything.

What Should I Do After A Truck Accident?

The cause of a truck crash varies. For smaller passenger trucks it could be just about anything from an impaired driver to speed. For large trucks (tractor-trailers), these five reasons were most common:

What Should I Do After A Truck Accident?

Looking at the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration’s statistics, light and large trucks accounted for a high number of crashes in 2016.

Top Reasons Why Law Firms Refer Out Personal Injury Cases

You may think you have a valid complaint against a business or person. Yet, you’ve called a personal injury attorney and they didn’t seem interested in your personal injury case and recommended someone else. You’re surprised. Don’t be. It’s not as uncommon as you’d think. There are several reasons why law firms refer out personal injury cases.

How Do Car Accident Settlements Work?

Under California’s Fair Claims Settlement Regulations, you should hear from an insurance company within 15 days of filing a claim. The company must accept or deny the claim within 40 days after fathering the proof. If you’re waiting on a settlement payment, this can seem like an unbelievably long period of time.

Can People Of All Ages Have A Medical Malpractice Case?

Are there age limits to a medical malpractice suit? Anyone can file a claim. You must follow the malpractice statutes of limitation in your state.

The Importance Of Going To The Hospital After A Car Accident

Every day in the U.S., approximately 6,438 drivers and passengers are injured in car crashes. Another 102 or so are killed in car crashes. Car accidents occur all the time, but when you’re in one, panic takes over and often keeps you from rationally thinking about what you need to do.

When To Call An Attorney After A Car Accident

You’ve collided with another vehicle. No matter who is at fault, there are several steps you should take immediately after the crash. They are:

Free Case Evaluation

Please prove you are human by selecting the Flag.

Loading the Art of Law