California Minimum Wage Lawyers
Read before you sign
If you live in California, the minimum statewide wage is $10.00 per hour for employers with 25 employees or fewer and $10.50 for employers with 26 or more employees. This rate overrides the federal minimum wage of $7.25 per hour.
In addition, some cities and counties have higher minimum wages. In Berkeley and San Francisco, for example, the minimum wage is $15 per hour, in Los Angeles and Oakland, $13.25.
These wages are the absolute minimum that an employee must be paid. It cannot be waived in any agreement between an employer and an employee.
Should your employer fail to pay you the minimum wage for any reason, you are within your rights to sue him/her. KJT Law Group is here to help you.
Schedule a complimentary case evaluation with our team today; call (818) 507-8525 or contact us online to get started.
How do employers violate minimum wage rules?
What damages can I receive?
You can also receive ‘liquidated damages’ to the amount of the unpaid minimum wages and interest. In effect, your total recovery can, therefore, be twice the amount by which you were underpaid in the first place. If your employer made a mistake in good faith, he/she will not be ordered to pay the liquidated damages.
If the whole company is affected and an employer underpaid everyone, a class-action minimum wage lawsuit can also be considered.
Let us help
Call today to discuss your case in confidentiality with one of the skilled attorneys at the KJT Law Group. We can answer any questions you may have.
We provide legal services in English, Spanish, and Armenian. Request a free consultation today by calling us at (818) 507-8525 or by submitting an online contact form.